Dream Journal : Whale

I’ve become increasingly fascinated by the concept of lucid dreaming and lately I find myself feeling conscious in my dreams just before I wake up I am aware of summarizing what I have dreamt about, or maybe it’s just the tail end of a long dream I am capturing. In any case I have noticed some synchronicity in the things I dream about lately. For most of this year, especially when I was in Bali- I was early to bed and early to rise and I did not remember my dreams. More recently, I have found myself sleeping through 3 alarm clocks and waking slowly, consciously running and capturing the essence of my dream as I wake. I think this is lucid dreaming and am interested to learn more about the art of lucid dreaming and being able to be conscious through more of my dreams to acess the knowledge of the subconscious world and maybe of some psychic intuition. Someone once told me that “dreams are like going to the movies for free” and I think that’s an interesting take on dreaming and maybe it’s the thing I love about filmmaking and it’s potential to visualise the inner and sub-conscious realms.

I am going to start writing them down here as blog posts in between writing reflections, experiences and observations. I want to write them down as an experiment, to see what synchronicities appear in waking life that correlate to my dreams.

Humpback-Whale2-1024x575

Last night I had a dream that I was on a dock by the ocean and a super creative friend (Art Director and Interior Designer Jamie Stimpson) was loading things into a small motorboat. Out of nowhere a huge whale slowly surfaced and swam up to my feet and started tapping the dock with it’s mouth. It opened it’s huge mouth and I stared straight into it. I knew that if I stepped inside the whale’s mouth he would go back underwater and I would be stuck for the rest of my life living inside his stomach like the legend of Moby Dick. For a moment I saw all that possibility playing out and saw myself living inside of the whale’s stomach. I didn’t feel afraid, I felt fascinated and a bit lonely. then I was on the dock and I consciously chose not to step inside it’s mouth and just looked on as it kept banging it’s head against the dock in front of me. It was a huge whale maybe 30 feet long and I was calling to my friend to come and look at the whale but he seemed to have completely vanished. I was afraid he might have already been swallowed by the whale. Then I woke up.

I went online to look up animal totems and their symbolism in dreams.

“To see a Whale in your dream indicates that you need to be more social or more vocal about something. Step up and speak up. Alternatively, the dream symbolizes spiritual guidance. You are ready to explore your emotions, but you need to make the connection between the conscious and subconscious aspects of yourself.”

I often look up animal totems when an animal randomly appears in my waking life too.

Here’s a good link for insights on animal totems Animal Totem : Whale

Leave a Reply

