Intuition 101

Yesterday I began this intuition course with Jana Johnson and Tamara Brown who are both empathic and intuitive healers and all-round very funny and cool women. Studying the subject of Intuition with two experts was a very fascinating process indeed!

After Punnu introduced me to Jana, she and I bonded quickly over  filmy stories when she told me she had co-produced and actedl in a feature film that premiered at The Sundance Film Festival in 1999 called Los Enchiladas.

I was intrigued to lear more about intuition, knowing I and we all have it as a natural instinct but feeling somehow a bit disconnected from it with layers of logic and decision making and practicalities confusing things over the years.

I was really surprised to sit down and learn right away that I was in fact going to be learning about ESP. It must have been my intuition that wanted to learn about intuition and I hadn’t even realised that I was actually going to be learning about clairvoyancy and the many forms of receiving and reading psychic information.

I found this totally exciting that I had subconsciously led myself into this kind of class and situation becuase I have had a lot of what they described to me as “Claircognizant” moments in my life but have never really known what to do with that information or where it ws coming from so I preferred to ignore it and over the years this began to shut down my own intuition. Though I realise I have played upon this psychc intuitive archetype quite a few times over the years- from fortune-telling gypsies to Solitaire in James Bond, so I am superduper grateful for a few days to tune into and learn how to master and what to do with my intuitive abilities.

I really like the very grounded fact that we know in our guts if something is good or bad or right or wrong yet for a zillion different reasons, mostly lower vibration or lower self reasons…we ignore these gut knowings. Yet the wiser higher self listens to the gut instinct and the hearts wisdom.

If you already know this stuff and live this way…well you rock and I hope perhaps you share some of that way of knowing with those around you because if people keep this wisdom to themselves then I imagine more then half the world is going around deciding everything logically and only a small percentage have the confidence to listen to their gut or listen to their heart. Really interested to hear some personal responses to this matter.

It is so awesome to be a student when you are really interested in what you are studying.

We did a guided meditation to meet our spirit guides. I met one who has been with me all along and funnily enough I had written about her in a previous blog post- but at the time I didn’t realise the weight or significance of what I was writing– when I said “I’ve had the angel of integrity with me for a long time asking me to check in with her along the way- am I in my integrity?” So, I literally do have an angel of integrity as a guide. She was beautiful and It seemed she was Haida or certainly some kind of First Nations Archetype- very tall towering over me with a big white feather headdress and she clearly represented light and purity and good and power possibly the ideal best of me. Then there was this other creature, I was uncertain at first it seemed like a mermaid but then she morphed into this dolphin who at first was very playful and telling me to play and have fun but then it got all serious, macabre and quite scary. When I emerged from my guided journey with spirit guides I immediately wrote down the name of this song as this dolphinwoman creature in the video was very much like one of my spirit guides

I understood that Integrity represents the light in me and the best of me and that the Dolphin hybrid creature represents the mischevious shadow in me.

Anyway that was a powerful and surreal journey but I didn’t have much time to make sense of it all a I had to rush off to a commitment of filming a sound healers collective performance. I made it just in time and it was so beautiful, like a ballet of dancers with healing sound props moving about the room whilst the audience lay on the floor with their eyes closed- the healers would move about banging bowls and gongs and strumming harps and mandolins right above each individuals head…magical to film and watch.DSC_0163

I then filmed an interview with Baba Ji for my Sound Healing documentary. Baba Ji doesn’t speak much English so he answered my questions in Punjabi and sometimes Punnu (his son) would translate what he was saying into English.

DSC_0022

IMG_0004

I got home to start writing this blog and then stopped to have a real life and totally inspiring chat with my next door neighbour Angelika Hansen, author of her travel memoirs Nur Mut: Be Courageous amongst other English titles. She is a woman who has a very strong sense of intuition and it seems that travelling solo also helps one to develop and fine tune that inner listening/knowing. She is an AMAZING storyteller and could totally have her own tv show in Germany.

Then I went home and tried to write about the day but fell asleep mid-writing.

I awoke early and excited the next morning/today… dreaming that I had a little kitten curled up beside me and shortly after waking up a little kitten did wander in and climb up to curl in a ball beside me- so cute!

Then it was day two at Psychic school….

I’ll write about today, day 2 in hindsight tomorrow. After I have slept on it and seen what comes up in my dreams I think, because it was really powerful, strange and insightful day of intuitive work and insights.

But before  I go…

Jana also took some time to explain mala beads and the importance of a daily meditation practise in becoming more and more attuned to our intuition, also in communicating with our spirit guides.

JAna makes these beautiful mala bead chains and explained the entire full moon ritual of dipping the stones in holy waters that have been gathered from Balinese temple springs an then setting intentions into the stones and chanting specific mantras whilst stringing them together so each one is programmed with a specific mantra and intention. They also look beautiful and like very stylish jewellery as well as having deep healing capacities. I put these two aside as Christmas presents for my sister and mum and then went out to see if I had the cash for them. When I returned someone else had snapped them up as gifts for his friends…I guess it wasn’t meant to be those mala beads as gifts for my Mum and sis and he saved me some money too.

But if you are reading this ladies (Mum and Sis) also any other friends out there who might be reading this and might like the look and concept of them and also want one…I could ask Jana to make one especially for you- programmed to help you with a specific area of concern or to empower you with a specific goal- love it and here are some pics.

IMG_0271

IMG_0258 IMG_0034 IMG_0032 IMG_0028

You could also commission your own one by contacting Jana directly at

Jana Johnson Healing Works

Maybe I will open a holistic healing jewellery shop or somehow sell it all online through The Conscious Hipster at some point because I am crossing paths with some really interesting and talented healers and creatives who are also makers of exquisite pieces of jewellery out here, all very different and all beautiful as you will see if you browse through my past blogs…and I like making jewellery too.

Leave a Reply

