Sunday Morning Nostalgia : Cartoons & Vids

Awoken super early by the cats and kittens this morning.

I think it’s my inner child sitting down to write now because I am feeling like some Sunday morning cartoons, in particular my favourite cartoons from the past and the present.

I’ll sip some strong Arabica coffee and then head over to The Yoga Barn for Sunday Morning ecstatic dance. It is like clubbing on a Sunday morning and it is a natural high. I love dancing in this town twice a week for two hours non-stop. Sweaty, sticky, flow. I filmed a couple who were dancing on Friday in such an amazing flow, contact improvisation it was incredible to watch and they didn’t mind me filming them for a bit. It was dark though as Friday’s are a night time dance and this is their last day together here so I will film them in the daylight a bit and share the video in a blog post just about them. Seriously their spontaneous dance flow was as incredible as many things I have seen at The Royal Opera House or Saddler’s Wells.  Then later today I am going to do some filming with a sound healer called AwaHoshi for my documentary on Sound Healing. She has a collection of crystal bowls and again everyone lies down on the floor to absorb the healing vibrations emitted from these beautiful crystal bowls. She is a magical woman and a Shamaness I am certain- I will find out more and will no doubt be shining a “lovebeam” on her via a future blog too.

So back to fun and to cartoons

This is absolutely my favourite childhood cartoon: Jem & The Holograms

I never get sick of watching it and there are so many episodes on youtube.

I even spent a good chunk of time about 5 or 6 years ago developing a proposal and screenplay for Jem & The Holograms as a Live action movie- I still think this is a really great idea with global appeal- pop music, fashion, a triumph of the underdogs…it’s really a potential hit concept and a great story. The only reasons I am sharing this in a blog rather then keeping it secret is because I am certain that I am not the only one with this idea and also the rights are tied up with Hasbro and Marvel and it’s on the scale of GiJoe and Transformers, so for me an indie filmmaker Jem & The Holograms is waaaay beyong what I am able to produce- the screenplay though, I would love to be involved if that ever does get off the ground…

Hello Hasbro!? Hello Marvel!? Jem & The Holograms gets my vote but it really has to be good.

The story of Jem being a holographic pop star alter ego was a huge inspiration for me, I just thought it was the coolest idea ever as a kid and I even lived out my own real life Jem fantasy as an adult pefroance-artist for many years!

That was a very fun, very inspired however very unconscious chapter in my life…

I guess in hindsight the whole “Alter Ego” project was very ego driven and I have since learnt that projects rooted in the heart for my own good and for the good of others will go far. Projects rooted in the ego, that are fearful or competitive will not go so far. What began as me living out a “Jem” fantasty did snowball into something much bigger, involving many other performers, musicians and producers even being invited to create a performance piece for The Venice Biennale D’Arte. Somehow being both artist and manager of an expanding circus was too much for me and my mind couldn’t handle it all…I lost confidence and couldn’t defend it to the critics who at the time were like “WTF is this!?!”. Anyway…that feels like it was another lifetime ago and it was a fun adventure! I feel so differently about life and creativity now that I can hardly believe I used to be a pink-haired Jem girl!

Here are some pictures of those days

113_26188220696_7507_n 132_27456460696_6621_n 132_27431830696_2785_n 113_26301530696_1769_n

105_27431400696_2925_n

As a good example of in my opinion successful girlie cartoon to live action adaptation,  I really liked the film adaptation of “Josie and The Pussycats” that was really intelligently done and featured Parker Posey who I adore. I even met the script-writers for it just after it came out, tat is why I went to watch it and the writing/subtext/subplot are what make the film so great.

Here’s a clip from Josie and the Pussycats reviewed on “We Eat Films

And here’s a clip of Parker Posey in one of my favourite films Party Girl

Here’s a series that I am loving and revisiting on this Sunday morning. It’s made by a collective from B.C Canada called The Fungineers who all live, work and tour together, creating these cool, fun and wacky songs/videos/webisodes.

And finally for this morning’s video, cartoon and inspiration I’ll let you in on a new discovery  that a genius hot nerd recently shared with me. It’s called The Venture Brothers and it’s a super addictive, wacky cartoon series. I love it and would actually like to watch the whole series but for now am just enjoying some clips this morning on youtube.

So there you go, some random videos that are inspiring me and may inspire you too.

Enjoy watching.

I just had a little coffee break from the blogging and tripping down cartoon and video love lane, to sip on some strong Arabica iced F.R.E.A.K Coffee together with my neighbour filmmaker Sue of Spotted Frog Productions. Nothing like a bit of a motivational morning coffee to stir up some inspiration, in a short space of time we discussed some amazing possible documentary ideas and film festivals and ways to get projects funded. I really like having a filmmaker neighbour to have inspiring chats with out here. The stars of her new documentary are coming to stay for a few days so I’ll definitely write a “Lovebeam” blog about all of them soon.

I’m off to have my “second cup” which will be a creative brainstorm meeting with yogi, writer and poettess Alexandra Moga over an an iced latte with almond milk at the Yoga Barn before I dive into the Sunday morning ecstatic dance.

Loving life and feeling good.

On a  final and more conscious note- then just sharing cartoons that I love…

I’d like to recognise that today is world aids day, and that means education day or re-education day as science and cures are always evolving. It all means gratitude day, for good health and for being alive!

Here’s a link to this video presented by Gok Wan reminding us to wear red ribbons in memory of those who died from this disease. I doubt I can find those out here in Bali so I’ll just try to wear red instead:

My inner child is happy from watching so many cartoons and vids that I love and I’m ready to go and dance dance.

l’ll leave you with a video of my beautiful and talented friend Fletcher singing a beautiful song “Feeling Good”.

Leave a Reply

