Welcome Om : Laughter& The Power of Intention

Invisible In The City

Invisible In The City

The earring I am now on my way to collect.

The Leela Creations earring I am now on my way to collect. I like that it climbs the ear and is more about magic than cool.

GROW

GROW

Funny.

I want this to be funny.

LOL Laugh out loud would rock or quietly chuckling with familiarity or disdain.

Ideally I want this blog to be Woody Allen kind of funny. 

There is so much potential for laughter along a spiritual, conscious, mindful and awakened life path.

Are you on it?

I would like to interview you for this blog if you are!

Are you one of those austere-take-everything-including-yourself-really seriously types? I have met many of those, I have even been one of those at points too, I think.

Can you laugh at yourself?

I laugh at myself daily, often out loud…I find this very therapeutic.

From Bridget Jones clutzy moments to insane ideas or eureka inventions; try as I might to be the epitome of grace- I very often trip up or bail along the way.

There is so much potential for laughter in the world of Fashion, Art, Music, Trends too.

Laughter in The Zeitgeist, in the now and in the wow.

Do you create it?

I would like to interview you for this blog if you do.

I first heard the word “hipster” in NYC in 2009 over a coffee at The Gershwin Hotel sitting with the art collective I co-founded “The NEW Breakfast Club”. One of the co-founders was a punk artist, in the vein of Shepard Fairey . He made some diss comment about Hipsters being “too cool for school” and looking around me I thought aren’t you/we all possibly Hipsters? These kids were kind of the coolest young things I had met in NYC so if anyone or thing was Hip…to me, they were it. Then it was brought to my attention that we were as a collective were not hipsters- we were cooler then that or something- even thought we nearly had our own reality tv show…

Fast forward a couple of years and I was Producing/Hosting my own weekly radio show and had just made a short film about vintage Balloon Tire Bicycles. After posting a photo of me on a vintage bike, someone commented underneath “Hipster”.

Eeek, that word again! I felt my inner teenage Emo resist with thoughts of “No I am not a Hipster! I find my own groove in life, I do not follow trends or fit in to any kind of mould” And then an epiphany struck me- Aha!Trying and wanting to not fit into any mold was in itself trying to be something. My round-abouty ways of thinking led me to a conscious choice of embracing The Hipster tag and helping it to evolve. Like the little bald man in the Princess Bride would say “Inconceiveable!” Thus “The Conscious Hipster” was born.

Why not make mindfuless, compassion, presence and personal development “The New Cool”?

I feel it’s worth a try as I love a challenge, an experiment and a mission.

So for 10-20 minutes everyday, I am going to sit down and write whatever I feel, prompted by the themes of Consciousness and Hipster of Pop Culture and Mindfulness and everything in between…

We’ll see where it goes…hopefully on to inspire. Based on the posts I read from friends on facebook and twitter (otherwise known as “The Zeitgeist”) and based on the random daily learnings I have received through conversation with sages of the urban, cyber, spiritual and everyday varieties.

This will be my discipline.

Along with my yoga and my youtube videos (current theme of particular interest: Sound Healing)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bali-Sound-Healers-Collective/359796840756427

And how am I going to try and contribute to the world by merging all that is cool with all that is conscious?

By really listening to you more and less to what rattles about in my head.

By writing out that which rattles about in my head and also reflecting on what you/others have said.

You.

The readers.

The creators.

The teachers.

You are my Zeitgesit.

I am just a mirror.

Ooooo that’s all getting pretty earnest in it’s weight and sincerity, isn’t it? This makes me laugh at myself a bit more.

So anyway, stream-of-consciousness this first post is- yes.

Perhaps I will write with more structure as this evolves.

That might be better for you to read.

When I made a radio show, I was very organised and would structure each show around themes and playslists with pre-meditated powerful questions for the guests.

So I would like to try that format out here via the blog maybe too.

Interviewing people in the realms of wellbeing and creativity: from Popular Culture to Mindfulness.

I would like to feature your wisdoms and creations on here and in between, I’ll write my stream of consciousness, perfectly imperfect, slightly neurotic, earnestly conscious, now and wow musings.

Since I am currently mobile and based mostly in places where a smorgasboard of spiritual, learning and new age/conscious activities abound; I am likely to have much to write about in those realms as well as possible reflections upon what I have experienced, learnt, processed thus far.

Also I have just left my life in the Eye of The Zeitgeist behind- London that is. And so I am of course missing many of you talented, unique, one-of-a-kind Hipsters in London and NYC. I use that word with fondness and respect and not with disdain and am writing this in a way for all of you too- to remind you to laugh ( at yourselves, at me, whatever…ideally at one thing each day).

In truth, I want to sit down and write my next screenplay.

In truth that requires mad discipline because I also want to do yoga, to meditate, to eat healthily to dance, to sing, to love…to mak a documentary about “sound healers” (pun intended)

So this blog will be the beginning of my creative discipline with a little writing each day in this free-flowing way before i work on anything else.

Ah yes I am so zanily optimistic on this day one of my very first ever blog.

What is conscious about it though…other then my intention?

Here is an inspiring blog post by Deepak Chopra on “The Power of Intention

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-9603/5-steps-to-harness-the-power-of-intention.html

And here is another article about intention and the law of attraction by a wise man Dr. Wayne Dyer : http://www.drwaynedyer.com/articles/the-power-of-intention

Happy to receive your feedback or questions.

One thing I know is that when I try to be funny I usually am not.

When I am earnest and neurotic and slightly over the top, I can be pretty funny.

I will consciously avoid drama- addiction just for the sake of a funny blog…or maybe it will evolve into a comedic work of fiction- it’s an experiment after all.

Some call it Schadenfreude: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schadenfreude

And for this week’s trend/style love, I am now on my way to accquire some pretty and unusual earrings by Leela Creations

Leave a Reply

